Reviews

An Ember in the Ashes Review

photo 1

  • Title & Author: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Publisher: Razor Bill (Imprint of Penguin Random House)
  • Date of Publishing: April 28, 2015
  • Genre(s): YA, Fantasy
  • Buy it: Book Depository, Amazon, Thriftbooks

LAIA IS A SLAVE.

ELIAS IS A SOLDIER.

NEITHER IS FREE.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Laia and her family do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, she is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier…and secretly, its most unwilling. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined…and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

There are just certain books that I will probably love for forever. I will read them about a billion times and never grow tired over them. An Ember in the Ashes is one of those few books. Considering that this is Sabaa Tahir’s debut, it’s particularly amazing. She’s going to have a great career ahead of her.

  • The names of the characters were really interesting…especially all of the Martial last names. It added an extra flair to this unique world that Sabaa Tahir built.
  • Elias’s character was very complex, and there was a real depth to him. He suffered so much throughout his life, and I could picture all of the harshness that his character had been through.
  • The harshness and violence of the Martials was so extreme and raw. I could tell the author put in a lot of work to make sure that the backstory of the world was credible.
  • Laia’s grandparents AKA Nan and Pop were so lovely. Even if they had a very short part in the story, I really liked them since they tried to defend Laia and Darin.
  • Kitchen-Girl (Izzi) in general. She has to be my favorite character!!

  • As you know, I don’t really like love triangles. The one between Elias and two other girls (Can’t say their names or I’ll spoil it!) was sort of confusing to me. It was definitely instalove in between two of them.
  • There’s always that one character that you don’t like. The Commandant was like a Delores Umbridge in warrior form. Yes… the Commandant was a kick-butt warrior and knew how to hold her own. But she just reminded me of Delores Umbridge in a WAAAAY worse form.
  • The many times the author mentioned rape wasn’t something that I really enjoyed. It didn’t go into detail, but she mentioned it enough for me to notice. I understand that the author was trying to prove even more of a point that the Martial Empire is terrible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tree silhouette free iconTree silhouette free iconTree silhouette free iconTree silhouette free iconTree silhouette free icon

Sorry for the late review! There were a few things that popped up in the last couple of days. I hope you guys, as always, enjoyed this review. I WILL most definitely be posting my next review on Friday. Look out for my WWW post tomorrow! Like my new rating icons? I’m starting to go with a more tree theme since that’s what my logo is. Haha.  😀

Keep reading bookworms!!

Leave a Reply

