Uncategorized

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven Review

all-the-bright-places

  • Title & Author: All the Bright places by Jennifer Niven
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
  • Date of Publishing: January 6, 2015
  • Genre(s): Young Adult Fiction, Romance
  • Buy it: AmazonBarnes & NobleThriftbooks

Summary from book…..

Theodore Finch is fascinated  by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might die, but every day he also searches for…and manages to find…something to keep him here, and alive, and awake.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of sister’s death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school…six stories above the ground…it’s unclear who save whom. And when the unlikely pair teams up on a class project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, they go, as Finch says, where the road takes them: the grand, the small, the bizarre, the beautiful, the ugly, the surprising…just like life.

Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself…a bold, funny, live-out-loud guy, who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet forgets to count away the days and starts living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is a heart-wrenching, unflinching story of love shared, life lived, and two teen who find one another while standing on the edge.

Review…

This book is one of the few books that actually made me cry. Let’s just say it’s gonna hold a special place in my heart. It is a huge roller coaster with loops and all of emotion. One page you would be laughing, and then the next you would be crying. I don’t normally like romance YA novels since they seem to always be the same. This one had something special though. It’s not just the wonderful plot twists but just the overall tone that made me want to keep reading more.

The beginning was a little slow at first, but as I got more into the middle it got so much better. The way Ms. Niven twisted the words into such a  beautiful story makes me want to go and buy all of her books. (AHHH. I’m gushing. >_<) The cover was also very eye-catching. When I saw this in the bookstore, I immediately knew that I wanted to buy it.

Theodore Finch…where do I start? I really enjoyed reading his POV. He was both easygoing and off the wall crazy. There were parts of him that were shown in the book that were so raw and emotional. It kind of surprised me since you would expect YA romance to be cheesy and shallow. Finch is a well-written character with a solid back story. He wasn’t particularly my favorite character, but I still liked him. Even though I didn’t make a connection to him, I do understand a little bit about the serious topics that were discussed when reading his POV.

I really did make a connection with Violet Markey. There’s a feeling of loss about her that I have felt before. Her character was definitely my favorite. She seemed to be pretty quiet and introverted. I loved some of the things that she says in her POV. Violet also loved to write which of course I can relate to. Haha.

All the Bright Places was an amazingly well-written book with an incredible plot. Looking forward to reading more of Ms. Niven’s books! I would definitely recommend this to readers who enjoy the not so cliché romance which are really rare to come across. I would give this book a 5/5 since it was that great!! 😀

star star star star star

Thank you so much for reading my review! I know it’s late. :/ I’m currently almost done making a book playlist for this book, so look out for a post about this!!!

2 thoughts on “All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven Review”

    1. Thank you so much for reading!! I would definitely proceed with caution with this book if some of the topics in this book are a touchy subject. Yea… I did read some of the reviews on Good reads and others’ reviews. I myself really enjoyed though. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

